Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Goals/Resolutions For 2014 (bookish, not bookish or a blend)

toptentuesday

Top Ten Goals/Resolutions For 2014 (bookish, not bookish or a blend)

melichtensteinsmall

1. Work Ahead - This is both a blog based goal and IRL goal. I would like to work ahead more, because I tend to procrastinate and that always ends up stressing me out. 

2.  Reserve a segment of each day for reading-  Right now with my long commute the time I reserved for reading is taken up with driving home so I want to find more time to read because I miss it. 

3.  Spend More Quality Time With My Husband- I was so excited to get to spend the holidays with Aidan and I want to find more time to spend with him doing things we find fun. 

4.  Go to more Bookish Events and Festivals- I probably won’t be able to afford to go to any in early 2014 but I hopefully will be able to in the soon future because I love them! 

5.  Read 150 books- I read 100 this year which I am proud of but I want to read even more next year!

aidanlichensteinsmall

1. Read 250 books - it sounds like a lot but I read so many short novels and listen to so many audiobooks that I easily met that goal this year. I’d like to repeat though and possibly broaden my horizons to listen to a wider array of material.

2. Get Back Into the Swing of Blogging - this would be number one except I feel I am already making some progress on this. I have recently started blogging again at my Doctor Who blog, Chair With A Panda, and I have been able to start aligning my reading with Alisa’s once again. The big sub-goal here though is to record more audio reviews together – we both loved doing that and that’s been the hardest thing to arrange lately.

3. Go Back to YallFest - pretty self-explanatory. We had a marvelous time in 2013 and I really, really want to make it back there this year!

4. Learn Another Language - I am really awfully bad at learning languages. How I ever passed my German and Latin GCSEs I’ll never know but I can say I have retained very, very little of whatever I learned. Still, I really would like to be able to speak or at least understand another language. I may never be fluent but I can at least try…

5. Write That Book - do I think I’ll really do this? No. But I am getting closer to pushing myself to try. My biggest problem has always been getting to the point of completing a first draft. I start writing and then my total lack of writing confidence sets in and I find myself pouring back over what I’ve already written to edit. Still, I like to think I have an idea of what I’d like to write and hopefully I’ll be able to grit my teeth and just put something – anything – on paper.

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish blog.

This entry was posted by Alisa Selene.

35 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Goals/Resolutions For 2014 (bookish, not bookish or a blend)

  1. 150 books?! 250 books?! You guys amaze me.
    Even i decided to keep a specific time for reading. I usually try and sneak in a 100 pages or so before bed.

  2. You guys are certainly an inspiration when it comes to reading! I definitely need to ween myself away from technology and spend more time reading. =D Great goals for 2014!

  3. Alisa – oh my gosh, I really need to work ahead, too. I’m somewhat of a planner, but I could be on top of things more. I’m lucky that I have such a short commute to work, but sometimes I wish my commute was just a little longer so I could listen to more of my audiobook. But generally I’m really glad that I have a short commute. I would love to go to more bookish events, too. I really want to go to BEA, but I’m not sure if I can pull it off. Staying in NYC is so expensive.

    Aidan – I wish I knew another language as well. I took French in high school and college, but I’ve pretty much dumped all that I learned. I remember nothing :) I also read a lot of short books (picture books for me, more so than short stories or novellas) so I always have high reading goals as well.

  4. Wow, that’s a lot of books (on both lists)! I’m impressed. I really need to set aside more time for reading the books on my TBR list in addition to the ones I’m reading with my kids (we’re in book 1 of Harry Potter right now). My work-life balance is a little out of whack right now.

    I’d also love to learn a foreign language. I practice a little Spanish with my kids, but they have surpassed what I remember from school. I can’t believe how much of it I’ve forgotten.

      • They really like it! It always sparks such interesting discussions. Harry is a few years older than they are, but they still identify with him in many ways. It breaks their hearts that he doesn’t have a mommy and a daddy and that his aunt, uncle, and cousin treat him so badly. These are tough conversations to have with six-year-olds, but they seem ready for it.

  5. I love all the goals! I would love to get ahead on blogging as well (and life, like school). I always say I’ll learn a foreign language this year and it’s such a great goal! I took Spanish 2 at my college this past semester and loved it, but I think I wanna learn French. Good luck! And writing a book is exciting, extra good luck for that!

  6. Nice mix of goals! And wow- 250 books Aidan, color me impressed! Working ahead is always a hard one for me, Alisa. I have a blog calendar that I map my posts on and it stresses me out seeing those blank boxes.

    Happy reading and blogging- rock those resolutions!

  7. Just keep writing, Aidan! Easier said than done, I know. I have always had terrible writing ADD, but last year I did NaNoWriMo and it forced me to write something from start to finish. It definitely needs a lot of work, but I was so proud of myself for penning 51k words in a month. Just keep pushing through and worry about editing later!

  8. Great goals! I envy your ability to read that fast. This year I tried for 50 books, and got 75, but even that was a lot for me. Kudos to you for being at more than twice what I am. And I definitely want to go to more bookish festivals and conferences. I didn’t think to put that on my list, but that’s a great one! :D

    My TTT

  9. The amount of books you two read is staggering. Wow.
    I think I love your number 3 — spend more quality time with your husband — the most out of all the resolutions I’ve been reading on various blogs.

  10. I need to make more time for reading too. I really do have the time to read but I find myself doing other things during that time. Read READ!!! No Supernatural (which is what I am doing right now instead of reading).

  11. These are all really great writing goals! I need to work ahead more in life and blogging too. I tend to keep meaning to write that blog post … and don’t. Aidan, when I’m writing, I never edit until I’m done with the first draft. If I edit while I go, I never finish. Everyone’s first draft is horrible. Don’t feel bad :)

  12. Wow, I’m so impressed with how many books you both read! I average about 50 a year, which is not nearly enough…this is inspiring me to step up my reading game. :) Good luck in 2014!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 642 other followers

